Islamabad: August 12, 2016 -  Prime Minister’s Focal Person for Polio Eradication, Senator Ayesha Raza Farooq has dedicated her Young Development Leaders’ Award for health to valiant and dedicated workforce of over 200,000 SehatMuhafiz (health workers) across Pakistan and the slain police officials and polio workers who sacrificed their lives for eradication of polio from Pakistan.

Senator was awarded the Young Development Leader Award for bringing innovation to health sector by the Ministry of Planning, Development and Reforms on the occasion of second anniversary of launch of vision Pakistan 2025 on Thursday evening. In an impressive ceremony organized by the Ministry, Senator Ayesha saluted the services being rendered by courageous health workers across Pakistan. She said that “braving the life-threats and intimidations, these health workers are our real heroes.” She said that without caring about the terrain and seasonal hardships, these workers are immunizing our children against deadly polio virus.

She thanked the Ministry for recognizing the efforts of the polio eradication team who have brought innovation, dedication and accountability in health sector.

Adopting the new-raised slogan of the ministry “I am Rising Pakistan”, Senator vowed that “We will work harder, better and smarter to make Pakistan polio-free very soon.”

The event was also attended by Minister for Information Pervez Rasheed, State Minister for Education Balighur Rahman, HEC Chairman Dr Mukhtar Ahmed and people belonging to different fields of life.

Earlier the Federal Minister for Planning,Development and Reforms, Prof..Ahsan Iqbal in his inaugural address said that “It is a must that we shun despondency, and every Pakistani should adopt 'I am Rising Pakistan' as his new motto.” "We must work harder, better and smarter to secure competitiveness in all fields, which is key to sustained growth.
It is high time that all strata of society come forward and play their role to put Pakistan among top 25 economies of the world by staying abreast with new innovations and disruptions in the world," he observed, while addressing parliamentarians at the event.

The Young Development Leader Awards were given to high achievers under different categories which included; Dr Zafar Hussain Ibupoto (education), AriebAzhar (arts and culture), Dr Muhammad Naveed (agriculture), Dr Faisal Khan (engineering), Burhan Rasool (Information Technology), NabeelQadeer(entrepreneurship), Zahida Hameed Qureshi (community services), Imran Moinuddin (science), Dr Abdul Wali (Biotechnology), AnwarulHaq (energy), Faran Awais Butt (Innovation) and Dr MurtazaNajabat Ali (emerging sciences).